St Margaret's CofE

Primary School



What do school governors do?

Governors work with senior leaders in the strategic development of the school and in raising standards of achievement. Duties include setting the school’s vision, ethos, aims and objectives, approving the school budget and policies and appointing the Headteacher.

Governors must both support and challenge the Headteacher, so need to gain an understanding of the school’s overall performance in order to explain its decisions and actions. They do this by attending regular meetings, carrying out school visits and meeting with senior leaders. They also attend training in order to keep up to date with the requirements of their role. Governors work as a team and make collective decisions.


Our school governing body consists of

Name Role Term of Office Appointed By Original Appointment Date
Alison Patrick

Foundation Governor/

Chair of Governors

07/04/2017- 06/04/2021 Diocese 07/04/2017
Father Anthony Moore Foundation Governor 26/10/2016- By virtue of Office 26/10/2016
Rachel Kershaw Head Teacher 01/09/2018 - By virtue of office 01/09/2018
Belle Howard Foundation Governor 08/10/2015-07/10/2019 Diocese 08/10/2015
Anne Smalley Foundation Governor 16/02/2017-15/02/2021 Diocese 16/02/2017
Kyri Souppouris Foundation Governor 17/02/2016-16/02/2020 Diocese 17/02/2016
Diana Farrell Foundation Governor   Diocese  
Lynda Hyde Local Authority Governor 09/07/2011-08/07/2019 Local Authority 09/07/2011
Lindsey Dearnly Parent Governor   Elected by Parents  
Will Durant Parent Governor 22/05/2015-21/05/2019 Elected by Parents 22/05/2015
Joanna Vowles Foundation Governor 28/09/2018-27/09/2022 Diocese 28/09/2018
Trish Venturi Associate Governor 01/04/2010 - 31/03/2019 Governing Body 01/04/2010

The Governing body of St. Margaret’s is responsible for ensuring that the school is run to promote pupil’s achievement and welfare and we are responsible for health and safety of staff and children on school property. We support and encourage all aspects of school life by acting as a “critical friend”. By that we mean we fully support our Headteacher Mrs Kershaw but also ask important and difficult questions. The duties of the school governing body include:

  • Setting the strategic direction of the school ensuring the Christian ethos is at the heart of all we do
  • Approving the school budget
  • Reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • Maintaining the upkeep of buildings and grounds
  • Appointing staff including full responsibility for appointment of new Headteacher


Governing Body Committees

The governing body meets as a whole group six times a year for a full governors meeting (once each half term). The governing body is split up into the following committees and the meet either half termly or as required.

  • Finance and Personnel Committee Chair: Kyri Souppouris

  • Premises Committee Chair: Will Durant

  • Achievement & Curriculum: Committee Chair: Belle Howard

  • Admissions Committee Chair: Belle Howard

  • Ethos Committee Chair: Fr Anthony Moore

  • Headteacher appraisal panel: Alison Patrick, Kyri Souppouris, Belle Howard


Governor Roles and Responsibilities

All Governors belong to 2 of the Committees above. In addition, individual governors also have individual roles as follows:

  • Link Governor (training): Alison Patrick

  • School Council Governor: Trish Venturi

  • SEND Governor: Diana Farrell

  • Child Protection Governor: Anne Smalley

  • Health and Safety Governor: Will Durant

  • Maths Governor: Anne Smalley

  • English Governor: Diane Farrell

  • Sports Governor: Will Durant

  • EYFS Governor: Anne Smalley

  • RE and Chaplaincy: Fr Anthony Moore

  • Data Protection Governor: Kyri Souppouris


In the past 12 months we have also had the following members on our governing body:



Term of Office

Appointed by

Original appt date

Bob Baldock

Foundation Governor




Lindsey Delow

Foundation Governor

01/04/11 - 31/08/18



Shirley Ross

Foundation Governor

16/04/15 - 31/08/18

Diocese 16/04/2015
Simon Hateley Headteacher 01/09/14- 31/03/18 Virtue of Office 01/09/2014